Inaugural Rip Curl Surfboard Festival

Posted on Tuesday, February 02, 2010

[gallery] A champion was crowned today on the final day of the Rip Curl MP Classic presented by Air Asia X at Duranbah Beach. There was no shortage of action on and off the beach as the Rip Curl Surfboard Festival kicked off at Marine Parade Coolangatta in conjunction with the MP Classic. As swell increased for day two of competition so did the surfing performances with competitors raising the level as Australian surfing icon Michael Peterson looked on. Josh Kerr was to be rewarded the MP Classic Crown for 2010 after nailing another high wave score of 7.90 points which gave him a combined heat score of 16.40 points (8.50 and a 7.90).I am so happy with this win and the final was really tough."After the crowning of the 2010 MP Classic champion all the action turned to the Rip Curl Surfboard festival with special activities including talks and shaping demonstrations from World famous surfboard shapers including Darren Handley and Wade Tokoro and an exclusive up close and personal with Rip Curl's elite team of surfers. The crowd flocked to get a chance to rub shoulders with their surfing idols which included; 2009 ASP Women's World Champion Stephanie Gilmore (Coolangatta, QLD), 2009 ASP Men's World Champion Mick Fanning (Coolangatta, QLD), 2010 ASP World Tour rookie Owen Wright (Lennox Head, NSW), Sunshine Coast sensation Dean Brady and up and coming shredder Stuart Kennedy (Lennox Head, NSW). The MP Classic and Surfboard Festival presented by Air Asia x and proudly supported by Waeco, XXXX Summer Bright and Connecting Southern Gold Coast was the first event of four on the Queensland Championship Circuit(QCC).2010 Rip Curl MP Classic Final Results 1. Josh Kerr (Tweed Heads, NSW) - 16.40 points 2. Jay Phillips (Fingal Heads, NSW) - 15.75 points 3. Yerin Brown (Byron Bay, NSW) - 11.60 points 4. Brent Dorrington (Coolangatta , QLD) - 9.60 points Other Results Highest Wave score of the competition - Josh Kerr (Tweed Heads, NSW) - 9.5 points Expression Session winner - Asher Pacey (Tweed Heads, NSW)

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts